Prepare Yourself For The Videogame Music Tribute Band “Critical Hit”

by - 9 years ago

Birds Group Shot

Today marks the announcement of Critical Hit, an all-star band headed by composer Jason Hayes, best known for his work on the acclaimed World of Warcraft soundtrack, and featuring award-winning performers and recording artists with a staggering list of videogame, film, and live performance credits, including The Annual Primetime Emmy’s, Cirque Du Soleil, American Idol, and more.

Their debut album, Critical Hit: Volume One, as well as their debut music video which features the main theme of Angry Birds (I’m not kidding).

Critical Hit: Volume One will ship on October 31, featuring their pick of 12 of gaming’s greatest hits. Tracks from World of Warcraft, Super Mario World, The Legend of Zelda, The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, Halo, Final Fantasy, Call of Duty, Metal Gear Solid, and more are presented in a wide variety of musical styles from rock to classical and beyond.

Musicians Hall of Fame inductee David Frank Paich, pianist of the legendary band Toto and co-writer on hit titles Africa, Rosanna, and Hold the Line, is featured on the album!

“Playing in bands was a big part of my life before I became a full-time composer,” comments Critical Hit founder Jason Hayes, “so it’s awesome to be able to return to live performance, while exploring my favorite videogame themes with such amazing and accomplished musician friends. The best part is connecting with people who are as passionate about videogame music as I am.”

Critical Hit: Volume One is as follows:

  • Tetris: “Main Theme”
  • Angry Birds: “Main Theme”
  • World of Warcraft: “Legends of Azeroth”
  • The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time: “Zelda’s Lullaby”
  • Halo 2: “Main Theme”
  • Pokémon: “Main Theme”
  • Super Mario World: “Bowser’s Castle”
  • Final Fantasy X: “To Zanarkand”
  • Kingdom Hearts: “Hikari”
  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3: “Battle for New York”
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim: “Streets of Whiterun”
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: “Main Theme”

Visit the Critical Hit website for upcoming concert dates. Those who pre-order prior to October 31, 2013 will receive their items personally signed by Jason Hayes.


Thank you Critical Hit for providing us with this information.

Images courtesy of Critical Hit.

Article Index

Author Bio

Related Posts