Star Wars: Episode VIII Starts Shooting – New Cast Members Confirmed

Following hot on the heels of the global event that was Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Disney has confirmed that the sequel, currently operating under the name Star Wars: Episode VIII, has started shooting. The latest major entry in the Star Wars saga – not including the forthcoming Anthology movies, with Gareth Edwards’ Star Wars: Rogue One hitting cinemas this December – is written and directed by Rian Johnson, best known for time travel caper Looper and high school film noir Brick.

To celebrate filming commencement, Disney has released a short production teaser:

Disney also announced the film’s cast, both returning actors and new additions, confirming the previously-rumoured involvement of Benicio Del Toro. On the official website, the video was accompanied by the following announcement:

“Star Wars: Episode VIII, which is written and directed by Rian Johnson and continues the storylines introduced in Star Wars: The Force Awakens, welcomes back cast members Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie, and Andy Serkis.  New cast members will include Academy Award winner Benicio Del Toro, Academy Award nominee Laura Dern, and talented newcomer Kelly Marie Tran.”

Star Wars: Episode VIII is released in cinemas on 15th December, 2017.